SIBA, the Society of Independent Brewers, was established in 1980 to represent the interests of the growing number of independent breweries in Britain.

Join Now

The Future of Small Breweries’ Relief

Write to your MP to tell them why SBR matters to your business

Click for info


An ‘Assured Independent British Craft Brewer’ is a brewery which has agreed to abide by SIBA’s Food Safety & Quality standard – meaning you get a beer of the highest quality, crafted with the utmost care.

Find out more


National Independent Beer Awards 2019

To read the full list of winners in the SIBA National Independent Beer Awards 2019, which took place at BeerX UK in Liverpool, please click here (see winners table at bottom of press release).

SIBA Independent Beer Awards

The SIBA Independent Beer Awards are run across SIBA’s 8 geographical regions, with the champions from each region moving forwards to the National competition at BeerX.

The SIBA Independent Beer Awards represent the very best beer from the UK’s independent brewers and are judged by fellow brewers and industry experts making these awards the “Brewers’ Choice” awards in the UK.

Below are details of the SIBA Independent Beer Awards for each region.

To find out more or to enter your beers into a regional SIBA Independent Beer Award competition (various categories are available across cask, keg and small pack) please click the link below.

SIBA Business Awards

The awards look to congratulate excellence in the brewing industry across a variety of categories, from pump clip, can and bottle design, to efforts taken by brewers to make their business more eco-friendly or to support their local community.

SIBA Lifetime Achievement ‘Silver Tankard’ Award

The purpose of the award is for SIBA to celebrate & reward an individual who has, over the course of a number of years, made an outstanding contribution to SIBA or the UK brewing industry in general, at either national or regional level.

This award congratulates those individuals who have gone above and beyond to make a meaningful and lasting contribution to the wider brewing industry.

Nominees for the award do not need to be members of SIBA and may be nominated by members & non-members alike, however if the nominator is not a SIBA member the nomination must be sponsored by a Full SIBA member.

The proposals will be put forward for the selection committee’s consideration, by the sponsoring SIBA member, at an annual selection meeting prior to the AGM.

A link to the online proposal form will be added to this page when the award is opened for 2018 entries.

Lifetime Achievement Award Previous Winners:

2019: Carola Brown

2018: John Keeling

2017: No award

2016: No award

2015: Roger Protz & George Philliskirk

2014: Peter Austin (dec’d) & Derek Prentice

2013: Peter Amor & Dave Wickett (dec’d)