Justin Hawke named British Guild of Beer Writers’ ‘Brewer of the Year 2017’

Justin Hawke, Head Brewer at Moor Beer Co in Bristol, was last night named the British Guild of Beer Writers’ ‘Brewer of the Year 2017’.

SIBA Chief Executive Mike Benner attended the annual awards dinner in London and had this to say on Justin’s win,

“On behalf of SIBA I would like to offer huge congratulations to SIBA Vice Chairman Justin Hawke on winning the British Guild of Beer Writers ‘Brewer of the Year’ Award. Judges commented that Moor Beer Co expertly tow that tricky line between brewing both traditional and more challenging beers, and it is that dexterity which has surely made them a hit with beer drinkers across the UK. I can think of no more worthy winner of this prestigious award.”

Full Winners List

Brewer of the Year: Justin Hawke, Moor Beer


NEW AWARD: Guild Award for Best Citizen Beer Communicator

Winner: Oli Haydon

Highly Commended: Matthew Hickman


There’s A Beer For That Award for Best Beer Broadcaster

Winner: Lucy Stevenson and Louise Mulroy

Silver Award: Jane Peyton


Guild Award for Best Young Beer Writer of the Year

Winner: James Beeson

Silver Award: Joe Tindall


St Austell Brewery Award for Best Beer & Travel Writer

Winner: Stephen Beaumont & Tim Webb

Silver Award: Chris Elston


Guild Award for Best Beer Writer – Corporate Communications

Winner: Carlsberg UK


Maltsmiths Brewery Award for Best Beer Communicator – Online

Winner: Emma Inch

Silver Award: Jonny Garrett


Fuller’s London Pride Award for Best Beer Writer – Trade Media

Winner: Susanna Forbes

Silver Award: Adrian Tierney-Jones


Adnams Award for Best Beer Writer – Regional Media

Winner: Simon Jenkins

Silver Award: Alastair Gilmour


Shepherd Neame Award for Best Beer Writer – National Media

Winner: Adrian Tierney-Jones

Silver Award: Will Hawkes


The Michael Jackson Gold Tankard for Beer Writer of the Year 2017: Adrian Tierney-Jones


Related posts

SIBA launches Beerflex

Direct Delivery Scheme evolves in response to growing demand for quality independent beers The...

Robert Humphreys awarded MBE

All-Party Parliamentary Beer Group and SIBA praise his achievements Robert Humphreys, formerly the Honorary...

SIBA supports Tryanuary

The Society of Independent Brewers (SIBA) is supporting Tryanuary, the new initiative that encourages...